Please visit one of the specific Bimmerpost sites above  

Go Back   BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Photography/Videography

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-08-2012, 02:05 PM   #2553
MARIO K
Brigadier General
 
MARIO K's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Montego E90
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posts: 3,405
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
does it work well Mario? I got it for like $25... made it hard not to push the 1-click buy button. haha
lol well you got a better deal than me!.. its great for close ups, I also like the ring reflection in someones eyes for portraits. You can also switch between having a half circle led lit to the left, right, or full circle which I thought was pretty cool.

definitely worth the low price!
MARIO K is offline   Lebanon
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 02:26 PM   #2554
Chewy734
Major General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Posts: 6,792
iTrader: (15)

cool... thanks for the info. I'll try to find some time this weekend to play with it.
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Chewy734 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 02:39 PM   #2555
The1
Major General
 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

Posts: 5,127
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
cool... thanks for the info. I'll try to find some time this weekend to play with it.
If you can't find time, just do it in the shower



I would like to try a macro light one day. I have an umbrella and a softbox now, so there's not much use for one on the stuff I shoot at the moment.

But at that price, Might be worth a shot.
The1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 03:11 PM   #2556
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,927
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
somehow I missed your post Reed. The RAM helps, but it's probably the faster HD that makes the difference.
Chewy, the graphics card is also very important. I've got a Lenovo desktop with a quadcore and 8GB of RAM and a Lenovo laptop with SSHD, 7i core and 8GB of RAM, but the desktop actually processes 30MB images slightly faster. DxO Optics Pro uses OpenCL for multi-threading and allowing the graphics card and drivers to coordinate with the DxO program and memory. Enabling OpenCL substantially increases processing speeds and the degree is influenced by the graphics card and its memory and capacities.

The SSHD does allow me to bring my laptop totally up and into a program in 20-sec. from dead off. That's very nice, particularly if you do presentations in board rooms and ever have to reboot in a meeting with a hard stop in 15-minutes. I wish that it were easier to get a SSHD on a desktop. Generally you have to order it as a separate, additional HD, not as the primary, like you can do on a laptop. The don't hold as much data, but that doesn't bother me because I have terabytes of external memory attached anyway.

Dave
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 03:23 PM   #2557
Chewy734
Major General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Posts: 6,792
iTrader: (15)

You're right Dave. The graphics card is also important. But, I guarantee you that you'll see a more significant performance boost with an SSD over a newer graphics card (as long as it's less than 5 years old).
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Chewy734 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 03:48 PM   #2558
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,927
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
You're right Dave. The graphics card is also important. But, I guarantee you that you'll see a more significant performance boost with an SSD over a newer graphics card (as long as it's less than 5 years old).
Maybe I missed the usage. I thought we were talking image processing, but the OP was so long ago that I may have it all confused. I've got a desk top and a laptop that are both less than six months old. The laptop actually has a faster multicore processor, but the desktop is faster at processing image files. I theorize that the better graphics card in the desktop is allowing OpenCL to work more efficiently.

Heeding DxO's advice, I only process three 25MB at a time, to avoid making the program shuffle info back and forth to the HD. Perhaps if I tried to process 4 or 6 at a time on the SSHD would be faster. As it is, I'm very happy with the 4 to 10 sec. that it's taking now. The Average is around 6-sec. Still, I might be able to take advantage of my SSHD by processing more at once. I may experiment with that.

Dave
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 05:10 PM   #2559
rodi
. . .
 
Drives: your FACE!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta proper

Posts: 2,400
iTrader: (-1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The1 View Post
I find it really hard to take those images as a good reference for the quality of the camera.

Did you see which lenses were used to take all those pictures? Definitely makes it harder to compare.
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
I saw the 135L images. Canon went with their sharpest lens for a reason, I guess. Still, one was at 1600 ISO and had zero visible noise.

I was just reading a review of the D800. The images are 76.5MB in size. Buying that camera would mean you'd have to buy a high-end workstation to use PS with the images. And *lots* of storage space.
that ISO 1600 image has NR smearing.
__________________
2009 135i | space grey | sport | navi | hifi | heated
dinan stage 2 software | bmw performance exhaust
kw v2 | hotchkis front sway | vmr v710

rodi is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 05:53 PM   #2560
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 5,001
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodi View Post
that ISO 1600 image has NR smearing.
Fanboy

Seriously, though, where do you see that? (I'm not doubting you, I'm just trying to improve my BS metering.)
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 08:23 PM   #2561
Chewy734
Major General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Posts: 6,792
iTrader: (15)

I see the D4 release date got pushed back?
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Chewy734 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 08:32 PM   #2562
The1
Major General
 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

Posts: 5,127
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
I see the D4 release date got pushed back?
oh well, it didn't interest me anyway

D800 seems more fun.
The1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 10:33 PM   #2563
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 5,001
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
sounds good Mark. The 20D was my workhorse for over 7 years, and I never considered selling it after I got my 5D2.
Hey Chewy, I have two UDMA 600x 16GB CF cards. I know the 30D won't take advantage of the speed, but do you know if it will at least write to those cards? If not, I may need to pick up a cheapo 133x 4GB card if I even want to test the 30D from CL.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 10:41 PM   #2564
Chewy734
Major General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Posts: 6,792
iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
Hey Chewy, I have two UDMA 600x 16GB CF cards. I know the 30D won't take advantage of the speed, but do you know if it will at least write to those cards? If not, I may need to pick up a cheapo 133x 4GB card if I even want to test the 30D from CL.
umm... I don't know.

The CF card I have that I can try on my 20D is this one. Will that be sufficient for you?
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Chewy734 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 10:44 PM   #2565
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 5,001
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
umm... I don't know.

The CF card I have that I can try on my 20D is this one. Will that be sufficient for you?
Yep, that would be close enough. But don't risk your 20D if you think it might mess things up. I've found 4GB Type II cards for $10, so that's easy enough to suck up if I just need one for testing.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 10:46 PM   #2566
The1
Major General
 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

Posts: 5,127
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
Yep, that would be close enough. But don't risk your 20D if you think it might mess things up. I've found 4GB Type II cards for $10, so that's easy enough to suck up if I just need one for testing.
you talking about compact flashes? if you're wanting to buy one for the 30D just to test it, aren't you planning on getting the 7D anyway which takes the same card? so, it just means you're making an early investment for the 7D by getting a good card. Rather then wasting 10$ on a bad card.

or am I just not really paying attention to what's going on?
The1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 10:53 PM   #2567
Chewy734
Major General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Posts: 6,792
iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
Yep, that would be close enough. But don't risk your 20D if you think it might mess things up. I've found 4GB Type II cards for $10, so that's easy enough to suck up if I just need one for testing.
Can it be tomorrow? My 20D's battery is dead, and I need to find the charger.
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Chewy734 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 10:54 PM   #2568
The1
Major General
 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

Posts: 5,127
iTrader: (0)

I think I know where i got lost, never mind....
The1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 10:55 PM   #2569
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 5,001
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
Can it be tomorrow? My 20D's battery is dead, and I need to find the charger.
No rush, Chewy. This camera has been on CL for a week now. I don't think it's going anywhere.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 10:57 PM   #2570
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 5,001
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by The1 View Post
you talking about compact flashes? if you're wanting to buy one for the 30D just to test it, aren't you planning on getting the 7D anyway which takes the same card? so, it just means you're making an early investment for the 7D by getting a good card. Rather then wasting 10$ on a bad card.

or am I just not really paying attention to what's going on?
Yeah, I've already bought two 600x 16GB CF cards for the 7D along with an extra battery. I'm just wondering if those cards will work in the 30D.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 11:00 PM   #2571
Chewy734
Major General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Posts: 6,792
iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
No rush, Chewy. This camera has been on CL for a week now. I don't think it's going anywhere.
Actually, I know for a fact the 8gb version of the card I linked works fine on my 20D, since I used it in that camera before. I haven't tried the 16gb one on the 20D though.
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Chewy734 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 11:02 PM   #2572
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 5,001
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
Actually, I know for a fact the 8gb version of the card I linked works fine on my 20D, since I used it in that camera before. I haven't tried the 16gb one on the 20D though.
And 400x is still UDMA, right? Canon's site just says 2GB or larger.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2012, 11:07 PM   #2573
Chewy734
Major General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Posts: 6,792
iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
And 400x is still UDMA, right? Canon's site just says 2GB or larger.
apparently yes.
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Chewy734 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-09-2012, 12:15 PM   #2574
vachss
Captain
 
Drives: Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA

Posts: 787
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
I bought this yesterday...

http://www.neewer.com/macro-ring-lig...-a200-new.html

It should be delivered today, along with my new watch. Hopefully this will allow me to take some nicer shots with my Macro lens this weekend.

This is a CW ring light rather than a ring flash? In other words it'll be lots easier to focus your images, but you'll have to rely on high shutter speed rather than short flash illumination to freeze your images. Depending on how bright the light is this might work great or might require fairly high ISOs. Let us know how it works.
vachss is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST