E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Boost Info for Race application

12-08-2013, 06:07 PM   #1
Ingeniator
Major
Canada
Rep
Drives: 07 335XI(90) 09 135I(82)

Boost Info for Race application

So I'm new to the N54 but I've owned and built a few turbo motors. What kind of boost levels are guys running. Is it common to go low compression has any one had to fire ring or stud the motor or have we yet to stress them that far. I've tried a couple of quick searches for MTS gaskets ec and haven't seen much. IMO if we are going to start swapping turbos we should start pushing the envelope. If anyone has any stories of failure modes. I'm interested in switching to a 1 series track car and want to practice a bit on my 335xi with tuning etc. Ultimately I'll build a race motor for the 1 series so I want info to decide what to do. If I'm going low compression high boost or similar I want to start getting some numbers now so I can map out what I'll want to run.
09 135I M (VK80379) 6MT. Race Project car. 1) Install Cobb/piggyback? and Motiv 600 Kit[HTA3076R w/ tial .82] 2) JRZ or Moton suspension. 3) Build high flow intake manifold with multi-port fuel and relocate OFH 4) Build full cage 5) Complete staged twin setup with HTA4205R [w/Tial 1.16] 6) Complete dry sump system
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2013, 06:25 PM   #2
pwr hungry
Banned
Rep
Drives: 335

Pm'd

Last edited by pwr hungry; 12-08-2013 at 06:34 PM..
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2013, 06:49 PM   #3
Allen@MOTIV
Rep
Drives: 135i

No-one has pushed the N54 to the limit yet(or at least are willing to talk about it.) Fortunately, beefed up internals are already available from a couple different sources when that need does arise, including Advanced BMW Repair of Houston and VAC. There is a variety of new options on the horizon that will hopefully put those internals to use.