F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > General BMW News and Cars Discussion > CPO - is it really worth it?
Extreme Powerhouse

05-20-2010, 11:07 PM   #1
neology
United_States
Rep
Drives: 07 328i

CPO - is it really worth it?

BMWUSA offers CPOs at some attractive rates - 2.9%. But is a CPO car really worth the extra 2-3K we shell for it? I searched the forums for some opinions on this, but didn't get quite the info i wanted.

Some items not covered were a little worrying - " brake pads and rotors; brake shoes and drums; manual transmission clutch assemblies; suspension dampers (shock absorbers/strut elements); exhaust systems " - especially the brake components. I'm no expert, but brakes do wear out considerably over 3 yrs of life, more so if the car has spent some time on the race track or the driver was a lead foot

Does anyone have any experience with CPO vehicles where the dealership refused to honor service requests?

Is a CPO really worth that extra dough?

Has anyone had considerable issues with a CPO'd bimmer?
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2010, 11:10 PM   #2
sole cal
Black Mamba
Rep
Drives: E90 335i

I have CPO, sometimes I wish I didnt because I want to mod the crap out of it.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2010, 03:27 AM   #3
neology
United_States
Rep
Drives: 07 328i

maybe you should ... but again, not all parts of the body is covered in CPO warranty. Did you check with the d(st)ealership?
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2010, 08:26 AM   #4
Feyd
Major
Rep
Drives: a DEEZZULL

It's good for you while you own and just in case you want to sell (because its transferrable). Odd, I feel like I got my brakes changed when I had mine... hmm.

Beware though the premium that you pay for it doesn't translate to the value of the car if you total it.