E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > My Stereo Install - From Base to Aftermarket

05-23-2013, 04:54 PM   #1
Ali-E90
Colonel
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2007 E90 323i (Cdn)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [8.00]
2007 BMW 323i  [8.50]
Smile My Stereo Install - From Base to Aftermarket

Hello all, I’m a newbie here but have been reading these forums for some tips and ideas on upgrading my stock audio system. Before I begin, I’d like to say that this forum was extremely useful, so Thanks to all!!

This is quite long as I’ve included a number of details on the installation, as well as my though process. Hopefully it doesn’t annoy you to saying “just get to the point already!”
The work is still in progress, and I have bolded a few areas where input/opinions would be appreciated. I will continue to update this post as the work gets done. Part 2 of the job may have to wait a few weeks as my schedule is just very tight.

Summary:
Although some of the decisions I made might have been contrary to what many have posted here, I am generally very pleased with the outcome of my setup. I’m currently still waiting on finishing the sub component, so am missing some bass, but otherwise very pleased with the overall job. This includes the sound quality and esthetics. I do have a couple of minor tweaks to request from installer when I get the sub done, see details in the HU section.

Original Setup:
I started out with the Base Professional stereo (no tweeters, no amp, 6” seat woofers) in my 2007 323i 4dr (Canadian model). It didn’t take me long before I decided I needed an audio upgrade (the two Talons I’ve owned prior to this have always had big box systems with amps and subs). As everyone knows, the base stereo is underpowered and lacks a flat sound curve.

Objectives:
I had a few main objectives I wanted to accomplish: