Please visit one of the specific Bimmerpost sites above  

Go Back   BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Photography/Videography

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-10-2011, 12:32 PM   #1167
Chewy734
Major General
United_States
163
Rep
6,792
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

iTrader: (15)

anyone know how to find out the shutter count on a 5DMK2?
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 12:40 PM   #1168
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
anyone know how to find out the shutter count on a 5DMK2?
if the numbers haven't been reset ever on it, as far as i can tell, just off the image count.



if you're using the 5DII primarily, you'll feel a real shock every time you put one of your lenses on the 20D and see the reach, it's borderline ridiculous sometimes when shooting something like 400mm between the 2 seonsor types.

when i was doing horse photography, i could sit at 400mm all day and get nice easy, not overly close shots of a horse jumping, but when i threw that lens on the 7D, i was using almost half the zoom unless i wanted to get a neat profile shot of half the horse clearing the fence. Like rodi said, you`ll notice it most at the long end and the wide angle end of things. everything else, you can just ignore the numbers written on the side of the lens.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 12:54 PM   #1169
Chewy734
Major General
United_States
163
Rep
6,792
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

iTrader: (15)

I found how to do it: [windows], [mac]

It turns out it was only 734 counts! Looks like it was kismet I got this one... and kinda creepy.
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 12:59 PM   #1170
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
I found how to do it: [windows], [mac]

It turns out it was only 734 counts! Looks like it was kismet I got this one... and kinda creepy.
Handy
will check, there should be a pretty decent count on my 5DII

*edit, not as high as i expected, 15,219
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 01:03 PM   #1171
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

does not show shutter count on my 7D however. I expect it's not far behind because of the high speed shutter.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 01:10 PM   #1172
Chewy734
Major General
United_States
163
Rep
6,792
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

iTrader: (15)

interesting...

well, my battery is still charging. There is not a single scratch or anything on this camera.

Do you guys use any screen protectors? or battery grips? I have a battery grip on my 20D.
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 01:13 PM   #1173
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
interesting...

well, my battery is still charging. There is not a single scratch or anything on this camera.

Do you guys use any screen protectors? or battery grips? I have a battery grip on my 20D.
I had a battery grip on my old t1i, it was nice, but as i didn't know what i was doing at all back then, it really only just balanced the weight of some of my lenses while on the camera, and gave me more battery life.

I've been looking for one for my 5DII at an affordable price, but they are expensive!

I'm shooting a lot more portrait now and I definitely miss having one attached. It's on my shopping list for both my cameras.

but again, i want to find a cheap knock off, not a canon unit.

Never put a second thought into my screen and protecting it. Just wipe the sweat off it once in a while and it's all good
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 01:13 PM   #1174
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

how many shutter counts on your 20D?
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 01:19 PM   #1175
dcstep
Major General
United_States
65
Rep
5,017
Posts

 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
My 7D just passed 50,000 and the 5D2 is approaching 30,000. I suspect that I'll have a shutter replacement within the next six months. Thankfully, I've heard, they're not that expensive.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 01:20 PM   #1176
Weebl
Weebl wobbles but eats Pie
15
Rep
1,525
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i, 2000 740i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SF Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

Look at your 20D and see how beat up it is. That will tell you if you need one and if you have a belt or stuff on your side.
I just get a 10 pack of PDA protectors and sharp knife. If you get a bubble or fingerprint, you can toss it.
__________________
Kevingoto.smugmug.com
2000 740i-Annalisa and 2008 335i-Weebl. Weebl may wobble but has DTC
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 01:23 PM   #1177
Chewy734
Major General
United_States
163
Rep
6,792
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The1 View Post
how many shutter counts on your 20D?
It can't find it unfortunately. Gives me a shutter count error.
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 01:28 PM   #1178
Chewy734
Major General
United_States
163
Rep
6,792
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weebl View Post
Look at your 20D and see how beat up it is. That will tell you if you need one and if you have a belt or stuff on your side.
I just get a 10 pack of PDA protectors and sharp knife. If you get a bubble or fingerprint, you can toss it.
The screen itself seems fine on my 20D, but this 5DMK2 has a much larger and sharper screen, so that's why I worry. The only thing that has some scratches on my 20D is that LCD on the top, by the shutter.
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 01:30 PM   #1179
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

they put a lot of work into the screens to make them scratch and smudge resistant, that being said, you can still scratch them, but all mine has after about 1 year is a couple of nose prints that clean right off

it's been kayaking with me several times, gone hiking a few times and a couple of road trips, so far so good.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 01:32 PM   #1180
Chewy734
Major General
United_States
163
Rep
6,792
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

iTrader: (15)

very cool. I guess I don't have to worry so much then. Do you guys ever use a remote shutter? If so, which one do you recommend?
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 01:46 PM   #1181
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
very cool. I guess I don't have to worry so much then. Do you guys ever use a remote shutter? If so, which one do you recommend?
I do, but i have yet to use it, so i'm not going to recommend anything yet

the plan was to start doing self portraits to get more practice, when i get the time, which i suspect will be after summer has passed.

I grabbed the Pixel wireless timer remote control and accompanying wire which they sell separately so they can control different companies units.

so far i think i've fired 2 times to make sure it works, and that's it.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 01:59 PM   #1182
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

to update you, after your post, I pulled it out and played with it a bit (the remote trigger) and it has some nice features, you can set delays, and intervals and how long you want the trigger to go for. so for example
I can tell it to take 7 pictures, 3 seconds apart, starting in 5 minutes and with a bulb time of 40 seconds each

it has a multi shot function, and a single shot function as well as a straight forward bulb.

you can make it autofucus by half depressing the button as well.

It has lights on it so you can use it in the dark as well.

hope that's helpful, i can take a picture of the gear if you like.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 02:24 PM   #1183
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
124
Rep
5,068
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
I found how to do it: [windows], [mac]

It turns out it was only 734 counts! Looks like it was kismet I got this one... and kinda creepy.
Rats, doesn't work with the 500D/T1i. Although my image count must be nearly spot on.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 02:32 PM   #1184
Chewy734
Major General
United_States
163
Rep
6,792
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The1 View Post
to update you, after your post, I pulled it out and played with it a bit (the remote trigger) and it has some nice features, you can set delays, and intervals and how long you want the trigger to go for. so for example
I can tell it to take 7 pictures, 3 seconds apart, starting in 5 minutes and with a bulb time of 40 seconds each

it has a multi shot function, and a single shot function as well as a straight forward bulb.

you can make it autofucus by half depressing the button as well.

It has lights on it so you can use it in the dark as well.

hope that's helpful, i can take a picture of the gear if you like.
What's the model of the device?
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 02:44 PM   #1185
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

TW-282TX

it's a 2.4 GHz unit.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 02:49 PM   #1186
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
124
Rep
5,068
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I use the Canon RS-60E3 wired and R6 wireless remotes. The RS-60E3 is better for shooting from behind the camera. Just finished using it to shoot pics of our new classroom. I used it for fireworks pics this year as well.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 02:51 PM   #1187
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

as it's radio controlled, you can be standing anywhere around it and fire it.

and again, you have to buy the wire separately so that it mates to canon specifically.

i'll see if i can find the box to get the wire number if you like?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2011, 03:19 PM   #1188
Chewy734
Major General
United_States
163
Rep
6,792
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

iTrader: (15)

Thanks guys. Battery just got charged. Hmm... in Av mode, the camera automatically chooses your ISO depending on what you're focusing on?
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST