F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Photography/Videography > Macro lens recommendations, please....
GetBMWParts

11-16-2012, 11:53 AM   #1
kingofthedemo
Major
Rep
Drives: BMW E90

Macro lens recommendations, please....

Hey guys I'm a complete novice when it comes to photography, I'm just now getting into it as a hobby, I have a cannon t2i dslr, and a few lenses, I want to buy a macro lens next, could someone please recommend some good options for me, thank you!
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2012, 12:37 PM   #2
M_Six
Free Thinker
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 MB GLC300 4matic

Don't make the mistake of buying a short focal length (FL) macro, like a 50mm or 60mm. The working distance (distance between the sensor and the subject) is too close for a lot of macro work. Look at the Canon 100mm f.28 macro. The L version is pricey, but it's a damn nice lens. The non-L version is cheaper and also very nice, but doesn't have Image Stabilization (IS).

You may find some cheaper 3rd party macros, but the FL issue remains the same. Working distance is the thing to keep in mind.

"There is no shame in dropping fruit in your glass."
-UncleWede
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2012, 01:01 PM   #3
rodi
. . .
Rep
Drives: your FACE!

on a budget? want to see if macro is your thing? just find out what filter thread your current lenses use, and buy a close-up filter set for under $75.

Appreciate 0
      11-16-2012, 01:02 PM   #4
rodi
. . .
Rep
Drives: your FACE!

jesus, that sounded like a fricking advertisement.

Appreciate 0
      11-16-2012, 01:59 PM   #5
M_Six
Free Thinker
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 MB GLC300 4matic

Do the close-up filters say "rodi approved?"

"There is no shame in dropping fruit in your glass."
-UncleWede
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2012, 04:12 PM   #6
Rowdy