BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

Mporium BMW

02-29-2024, 07:56 PM   #1
sperkins
Private
Rep
Drives: 08 E92 M3 MT

Rear Toe Arms: Jam nuts vs clamps?

Hi,
I'm currently in the process of replacing subframe bushings, along with RTAB's.

I'll eventually replace the rear toe arms and upper control arms.

I see that some offerings use a jam nut or a small clamp to hold the adjustment.
I'm not an engineer, but it appears the clamp can only work if the metal is thin enough (or slotted) for the clamp to compress. The jam nut doesn't compromise the thickness of the tube.
It appears most of the mfgrs have moved to a clamping system:
SPL
Rogue

AKG still uses a jam nut, Turner offers both.

Which is better? Or does it matter?

For comparison, here is Turner's offering:

Clamps

https://www.turnermotorsport.com/p-5...-links-e9x-m3/

Jam Nuts

https://www.turnermotorsport.com/p-5...inks/?pdk=AAEE

Last edited by sperkins; 02-29-2024 at 10:44 PM.. Reason: Error
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2024, 04:14 PM   #2
iamtrashman
Private
Canada
Rep
Drives: 09 E92 AW Stripper M3

I am sure other people know better than myself but the *lock style* are good enough for tie rods from the factory so they are probably good enough for me.

I have read on here of some SPL parts failing but I think it was maybe a hardware issue and not necessarily a design issue.

Edit* mistyped jam nut
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2024, 02:33 PM   #3
1FastSicilian
-Frank
Rep
Drives: 2013 E92 M3 ZCP

i personally would chose the jam nuts..
IG: @_frank_stone_
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2024, 03:26 PM   #4
sperkins
Private
Rep
Drives: 08 E92 M3 MT

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamtrashman View Post
I am sure other people know better than myself but the *lock style* are good enough for tie rods from the factory so they are probably good enough for me.